2014 Unbuilt Design


Peter Lofgren AIA
principal, Baker Design Group (jury chair)

Eden Dutcher
principal, GroundView

David Hacin FAIA
founding principal and president, Hacin + Associates

Kelly Hutzell AIA
senior architect, over,under; and assistant teaching professor, Carnegie Mellon University

Jury Overview

We received 49 entries this year, fewer than in past years where we typically receive 60 to 90 submissions. Despite the smaller number of entries we were able to identify nine award-worthy projects which are described in more detail below. The entries are both grand and modest in scale, which is typical for this type of awards program. There seemed to be a high number of student projects and there were very few towers and private homes.

Recognizing that it was not possible to evaluate such wide-ranging projects on the same terms, we sought to appreciate the aspirations of each entrant. We looked for emerging ideas and trends. Projects that confronted real issues like construction cost or coastal development stood out because they demand creative thinking and innovative solutions. Real, responsible parameters were important. We sought feasibility—projects one wishes would be built vs. those that were provocative but will clearly never be built. Projects that told an architectural story with conviction and sincere architectural passion caught our attention. Over the day we became cautious of sustainability—it was sometimes spoken about but not demonstrated in any real terms. Beauty mattered, both in design and the visual appeal of the presentation material.

The Unbuilt Architecture and Design Awards program allows designers to express real and sincere ideas about design and the environment today. Many of the entries were clearly a labor of love, done without the constraints of client demands or budgets. Other entries took on real design problems and created designs solutions that exceeded simpler programmatic expectations. In all cases, the jury felt that the designs receiving awards have something special to share.

We want to thank the Boston Society of Architects for this opportunity to serve as jurors.